The Idiot’s Guide to Gel Eyeliner

I’ve been wearing plain ol’ black pencil eyeliner since I was about 11 or 12. I can still vividly remember Rania and I smudging eyeliner on like there was no tomorrow, conveniently forgetting the importance of balancing the look with a soft blush, eye shadow or neutral lips (you live and you learn). Come to think of it, my makeup routine basically stayed the same until college. Yet, my trusty black pencil eyeliner was always in the picture – TIL NOW.

I should also mention that I’m a little handicapped in the makeup department. Don’t get me wrong, I love Love LOVE anything to do with cosmetics. Shit, once upon a time I worked in PR and my sole job was to test and write about my favorite products so that people like you could run out to the store and buy them all. However, when it came to making the perfect smokey eye ( a la Kim Kardashian) I was a failure. That always pissed me off. I mean the fact that my skin is awesome enough not to have to cake foundation and powder all over the place just doesn’t make up for my inability to draw a cat-like line across my eyes.

Enter Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner in Black. This ish is the bomb.org if you know what I’m sayin’. It comes in black (my obvious fave), charcoal, brown and plum. The handy little jar also comes with the perfect application brush that is guaranteed to aid makeup idiots around the globe.  I think this stuff has been out for a few months, so my apologies if this isn’t exactly news to you. I tried it for the first time over the weekend and let me just tell you it didn’t smudge and it even stayed on after washing my face! Not to worry, it came off quite easily with eye makeup remover. Well I guess my prayers have been answered…I can now prance down the street with 4″ heels and kickass smokey eyes. Yeah GURL!

PS – I forgot to mention the best part…this awesomeness in a jar is only $9.99 at your local drugstore!! And here’s a little fun fact for all you MAC snobs out there: the ingredients in most eye makeup (mascara, eyeliner, eye shadow, etc.) is relatively the same, regardless of the brand. Bottom line = save money on [certain] makeup, spend more on fab shoes and cocktails!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

