The television gods have finally answered my prayers

I know I’m not the only person that feels like I’ve actually become less intelligent from watching shit reality television on Bravo and MTV. There was a time when shows like Sex and the City would come on every Sunday and we’d all patiently wait to see what socially relevant topics the writers would decide to tackle….

Who the hell am I kidding? All we wanted to find out was who Samantha was going to bang next, whether Carrie would wind up with Big or Aidan, if Charlotte would ever get her happy ending, and Miranda…well I was never really all that interested in Miranda to be honest.

Just when you thought you couldn’t stomach another mindless episode of Jersey Shore or The Real Housewives of Goldiggersville, you can now set your DVRs to record Boardwalk Empire on HBO every Sunday at 9pm. And just why should you take up valuable space on your DVR’s memory for a new series you’ve never heard of? Because it’s kickass and I’m officially obsessed with the costume design, that’s why.

The summary goes something like this:

The series takes place in Atlantic City, NJ, during the beginning of Prohibition (that’s the 1920s for all the historically challenged people out there). The focal point of the show is about organized crime in AC, NYC and Chicago. The AC gangsters are mostly crooked politicians like the main character, “Nucky” Thompson. Nucky is played by Steve Buscemi, which is reason enough to give the show a shot. There are also appearances by infamous mobsters like Al Capone and Lucky Luciano. In case you didn’t know, I’m Italian and I was raised by two crazy mofos from Brooklyn, NY. The stories my parents could tell you are pretty ridiculous, which is a big reason why they moved out to the horse farms of NJ when I was born. Anyway, I like that the show accurately portrays the early years of the most notorious gangsters in history. I find that to be an ingenious move by Mr. Scorsese.

The show is about four episodes deep as of this week. I’m not too thrilled with Nucky’s annoying girlfriend, so I’m hoping the recently widowed Margaret makes a move on him sometime in the next few episodes. There’s something about her coy disposition and Irish accent that could definitely be sexy if she knew how to work it. If only she had access to Should I be Wearing This…

I’m also waiting to see what happens with Al Capone’s crew out in Chicago and Lucky Luciano’s strange new love affair with Jimmy’s mother (who by the way was def NOT casted properly, she looks like she’s 30). Oh, and it’s also directed by Martin Scorsese in case you missed that reference earlier.

Watch it and let me know what you think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

