Study Finally Shows We Should All Quit Our Jobs and Stop Exercising

We’re all doomed. I can’t even use deodorant these days without reading somewhere in the news that it causes cancer. This one takes the cake though:

A new study by the American Cancer Society has shown that the amount of physical activity you do throughout the day does not compensate for the fact that if you are sitting down for more than 6 hours per day. The study was done on 123,216 adults and showed that women who sat more than 6 hours daily were 37 percent more likely to die during the studied time period, compared to those who sat for less than 3 hours. For men it was less harmful, with a still significant 19 percent rise. The results were associated more with cardiovascular disease than cancer.

I had to reread it a few times too. Like what? Soooo, let me get this straight…the people over at the ACS are telling me that I have about a 40% chance of dying at an unspecified age during the studied time period if I sit more than 6 hours per day? Well shit, I guess that means I’ll be living until about the age of 35. Apparently all of my friends will be dying around the same time as well because just about every effing person I know has a job that requires them to sit down for at least 6 hours a day.

I always question studies like this. It reminds me of the one some quack published years ago telling us eggs were bad for our cholesterol levels and we shouldn’t eat the yolks, blah blah blah. The red flags for me in this case are that they said exercise basically didn’t mean JACK and that the time period wasn’t specified. I love how they conveniently left that little fun fact out. I also love how obesity doesn’t seem to play any part in this study. I don’t usually believe everything I read and I hope this is one of those cases where I’m right. Otherwise, I’m just giving up on trying to live a healthy lifestyle all together.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

