I’m SO Hosting My Next Birthday Party Here

One of my favorite things about NYC is the never-ending list of restaurants for me to visit and this place has just made it to the top of my “To Do” list next time I’m back home. Look at the photo and tell me this place isn’t glam?! I’m talking sheer tranny glam, peeps. I love Love LOVE the old Hollywood meets Broadway cabaret scene. Come this November, our friends Richie Akiva, Scott Sartiano and Ronnie Madra (the players behind 1OAK and Butter) will unveil The Darby. This new hot spot is modeled after legendary nightlife venues El Morocco, Copacabana and The Cotton Club and will feature nightly musical performances. Veteran cabaret performer, Lady Rizo, will lead the six-piece band in pop songs, standards, and jazz numbers (cue jazz hands). I can hardly contain my excitement!

The menu will feature nouveau American cuisine with specialties such as oyster-stuffed filet of beef, roast Maine lobster with antiboise sauce and an extensive raw bar selection. Inside the kitchen you’ll find the chef from Butter and Food Network star Alexandra Guarnaschelli.

On the exterior, a Broadway-style marquee with hundreds of lightbulbs will mark the entrance to The Darby. Inside, attractive hostesses will be skanitily clad in uniforms designed by Marchesa. Becoming a cocktail waitress suddenly just became more appealing (hellllo Marchesa uniforms).

From the looks of it, this new Meatpacking staple will be ridiculously tough to get into come November. Good luck to all you civilians!

The Darby

246 W 14th Street

NY, NY 10011

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

