Obsession Du Jour: Time to Update Your LBD

Cushnie et Ochs, Hervé Léger and Diane von Furstenberg

 

Leighton Meester @ Paris fashion week, Chanel pre-fall 2010


Nina Ricci fall 2010


Angelina Jolie in Michael Kors

 

One of my favorite leather cutout dresses — DVF fall 2010

 

I’m big on color. I like to express my mood by way of colored cardigans, handbags or shoes. However, I have recently found myself going through a neutrals phase and I couldn’t be happier. Of course I own black dresses galore, but I got to thinking about how bored I am with each one of them. The other day I found myself browsing through my mother’s closet and spotted the most magnificent black leather dress circa 1987 (I kid you not). I just dropped it off at my tailor because it was in serious need of a shortened hemline. This was my inspiration for the post since the leather craze was splashed across every runway in March for fall 2010.

I love neutral leather, but something is so sexy and powerful about black leather. What guy wouldn’t drool all over you if you were sporting any of the hot dresses above? That means it’s time to put away your “safe” LBD and go and get yourself a hot leather LBD. If you don’t feel like shelling out the big bucks, you can try scouring your local vintage stores for a fitted leather dress and have it altered like I did to my mother’s dress (and NOTHING beats a custom-fit ensemble, trust me).

Go get em’ hot bitches!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

