IS THERE A STYLIST STRIKE GOING ON THAT I DON’T KNOW ABOUT?

Leighton Meester in Emilio Pucci and Jimmy Choo heels.

Nicole Kidman in Dolce & Gabbana with red L’Wren Scott shoes and Fred Leighton jewels.

Sheryl Crow in an unknown asymmetrical dress and Neil Lane jewels.

Carrie Underwood in a Talbot Runhof gown with a Swarovski clutch.


YEAH GURL AWARD FOR

BEST DRESS OF THE NIGHT

Kellie Pickler in a Pamella Roland gown with Swarovski earrings.

 

I may or may not have actually watched the CMAs last night, but you can be damn sure I checked out what all the ladies were wearing on the red carpet. I was in utter disbelief when I caught a glimpse of some of the train wreck dresses, starting with Blair Waldorf Leighton Meester. That’s supposed to be a Pucci dress? It looks like pieces of scarves safety pinned together to form a dress. Did she even get her hair/makeup done before the event? Major red carpet fail. Next we have Nicole Kidman. If only this dress came in black. I’m just really not feeling white lace in mid-November. She may have pulled off a better look with the right shoes (nude heels maybe?), but her red L’Wren Scott platforms completely ruined it for me. I think Leighton and Nicole would have been better off strutting down the carpet wearing only their fabulous shoes.

Moving on. Now we come to Sheryl Crow. This is a perfect example of why I’ve never been a fan of her style. Apparently she’s celebrating Thanksgiving early because this looks like something Pocahontas would wear if she were alive today. I didn’t even bother to find out the designer because nobody cares who it is. At least she looked good from the neck up.

I’m disappointed in Carrie Underwood’s gown. I think it would have stolen the limelight had it been shortened at the ruffled hem on her upper thighs. Everybody knows Carrie has enviable toned legs and that should have been the inspiration for whoever dressed her. I do appreciate the overall design, but I just don’t think it was the right dress for her since she’s not very tall. Girlfriend looks like she’s getting gobbled up by a black licorice cupcake (PS — I just threw up in my mouth thinking about a cupcake that tasted like licorice).

Enough with the failures, now it’s time to unveil my FAVE dress of the night! I think Kellie Pickler looked positively radiant in her gold Pamella Roland gown. She’s never been much of a style icon, but I’ll give credit where credit is due. I’m completely obsessed with this dress and it fits her like a glove. She kept it simple with minimal accessories and toned down hair/makeup. Props to Kellie for pulling off a stunning look on the red carpet last night. At least someone decided to properly dress themselves.


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

